Covering Up for (Hopefully) the Last Frost of the Season

I had planned for a couple hours of work in the garden last night, but did not count on spending that time prepping for a possible frost/freeze. Not a bad situation, really, as my tender plants are still in the greenhouse, with the exception of a few marigolds and begonias and a lone cherry tomato I just couldn’t help “jumping the gun” with. The only plants I actually have in the ground are root vegetables which should be able to tolerate a light frost. As a precaution, I brought my hanging baskets in off the porch, but in that sheltered area I don’t imagine a little frost would get to them. The published “safe” date for frost in this part of North Carolina is April 24th, and I am planning to transplant my tomatoes, peppers and eggplants from the greenhouse into the raised bed over the next couple of weeks. Let’s hope this is the last cold snap we see until sometime around Halloween.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

